Ascalon Book Review

I may have been overly ambitious with my reading this month. Or I chose a really short book. (It’s hard to tell on a Kindle.) Either way, I’ve finished my book, all of 3 days into the month. So perhaps I’ll choose a bigger book and have a little more time to finish it over the next 2-ish months.

My original goal was to read one non-fiction book and then one fiction book, but I messed my schedule up right off the bat, by reading 7 Men, and then Same Sex Marriag51l1adjis2l-_sx311_bo1204203200_e… (Those two titles don’t stack well next to each other do they? )

Ascalon is set in a small Bavarian town, whose name I still cannot pronounce confidently in my head, it’s spelled Ernstadt. It starts out with our main character Baynard, who’s on his way back home from the crusades. He’s not nobility though, just a scribe whose Lord had died.

The Author, Cass, did an excellent job writing the characters. Baynard isn’t some epic hero, the majority of the time we see him trying to slink away from the lime light, and Cass does a good job of letting us into Baynard’s head so we can see what he’s thinking. This is great because his thoughts provide a lot of humor to the book, especially when he’s interacting with the Lady Lise and when he’s dealing with Sir Till.

I feel like Cass did a good job of keeping things historically accurate in the book, but for all I know he could have made everything up. Except for the dragons, I know he got those right.  I also enjoyed reading about the political and economic power plays, the customs, and the old way of life, Cass didn’t make explaining those things boring as he wove it into the story naturally.

The supporting characters were probably my favorite part of the book. The annoyingly chatty Martin, the autistic savant Ralf (inferred not stated), and independent Lady Lise, all served to draw you into the book and make you concerned for the characters.

The book has action, humor, and even a little romance. (Not a lot though don’t worry.) It moves around with the enjoyable unpredictability. Which could be do the fact that I’m an exceptionally foolish reader, but I’m going to chalk it up to the the authors skill.

I’d say more but I don’t want to give any of it away.

I have to be honest and say that the only reason I read this book was because I worked with the author at Camp War Eagle. He wrote another book called The Late Lord Glass, which I also really enjoyed. But, I haven’t talked to anyone who’s read his books that didn’t know him. So I can’t tell if my enjoyment of the books is one of those “You had to know the guy” experiences or not. I still recommend it though. I read the majority of it in one day, so it had to be at least moderately entertaining.

This was a fun book which I enjoyed reading, and I was sad when it was over.

What do you think?

